Copyright © 2016 Chesterfield Royal NHS Foundation Trust

  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon

Neurology

Your neurology placement will provide you with opportunity to work with patients with a broad range of neurological problems in both the acute and rehabilitation phases of their recovery.

 

A substantial part of your placement will be spent on the combined stroke unit based on Eastwood Ward stroke unit and may include some work with the early supported discharge (ESD) service. The stroke unit provides MDT assessment and treatment for acute stroke patients and patients undergoing rehabilitation and discharge planning.

 

You may also gain experience in the assessment and treatment of patients with other neuropathologies on other medical wards.

You will also assess and treat out-patients with a variety of neurological conditions depending on our case load at the time. These may include people with MS, CVA, traumatic brain injury, spinal cord pathology, Parkinsonism, systemic peripheral neuropathy and other disorders. 

Training

During your placement you will be introduced to a variety of patients - the practicalities of their assessment and treatment will be approached in a way dictated very much by yourself.

 

This will include observation sessions, joint assessments and treatments led by an experienced member of staff, progressing to independent assessment, treatment and planning of patient management as confidence and ability develop.

 

The opportunity to discuss findings, implications, clinical reasoning, treatment possibilities and limitations will be offered (and encouraged) throughout your placement.

The opportunity to observe the work of other health professionals in our team can usually be arranged.

Knowledge and skills required
Knowledge:
  • Knowledge of the functional anatomy of the CNS and PNS

  • Knowledge of neuropathology: aetiology, pathological changes, signs and symptoms, course and prognosis

  • An understanding of the principles and process of the neurological assessment

  • An appreciation of the perceptual and cognitive processes which inform decision making with respect to motor actions

  • An appreciation of the mechanisms of learning and plastic adaptation

Skills:
  • You will develop skills in the assessment of muscle tone, voluntary movement, reflexes, cerebellar function, sensation, visual perception, functional assessment including balance and gait.

  • You will develop an understanding of the significance of these findings in relation to motor control.

  • You will develop techniques to treat principle symptoms and their functional consequences.

  • You will have the opportunity to work as part of the MDT, to be involved in the decision making and planning to enable safe and effective discharges

Learning Outcomes

On completing this module you should be able to:

Competently assess and manage acute stroke patients, those undergoing rehabilitation and patients with more chronic neurological diseases

Explain signs and symptoms in relation to neuropathology

 

Become familiar with different means of moving and handling neurological patients

 

Plan, carry out and progress treatment programmes appropriate to symptoms, prognosis and functional requirements

 

Document patient information accurately and become familiar with terminology.

Day 1

Full uniform is worn (polo shirt if preferred) and university ID Badge required to be displayed at all times.

Directions: Click here for directions and map of the hospital. The site is accessible via public transport.

 

Parking: Parking is available on site, a fee is charged for all patients, visitors and members of staff using these facilities.  On your first day please use the car parks indicated for patients/visitors and pay accordingly.  A parking pass is available to be purchased for future uses. Click here for more information.

Photo: Chesterfield Royal Hospital

Contacts

Co-ordinator

Alan Ward                        alan.ward2@nhs.net                    Bleep 068

Clinical supervisors

Alan Ward                        alan.ward2@nhs.net                    Bleep 068

Michael Winder              michael.winder1@nhs.net           

Debbie Wooliscroft        deborah.wooliscroft@nhs.net

James Hart                      jameshart1@nhs.net

Claire Rhodes                 clairerhodes@nhs.net

Ros Dolby                        rosalinddolby@nhs.net

Amber Sheridan             amber.sheridan@nhs.net

Laura Beasant                laura.beasant@nhs.net

Grace Furness                 grace.furness@nhs.net

Emma Shaddock            emmashaddock@nhs.net

Vicky Oscroft                   v.oscroft@nhs.net

David Archer                   david.archer2@nhs.net               Bleep 067

Downloads: