Copyright © 2016 Chesterfield Royal NHS Foundation Trust

  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon
Respiratory/Medicine

Much of the work on these placements is based on the general medical and surgical wards, although opportunities may be available to gain experience within the Intensive Care Unit, Admissions Unit, Cardiac Rehabilitation and Amputee Service.

The patients range from those admitted as an emergency with an acute illness to those who have long term conditions and for whom their current illness and admission is one of a number of episodes.

 

The workload is split between providing respiratory care to patients and restoring their mobility, function and independence.

 

Multi-disciplinary teamwork is a key element of these placements and good time management, prioritisation and discharge planning skills are essential.

Chesterfield Royal Hospital

Photo: Chesterfield Royal Hospital

Common conditions

Respiratory conditions

Conditions requiring admission to ITU:

Surgical patients include those admitted for:

  • Gastrointestinal surgery

  • Colorectal surgery

Medical patients include those admitted following:

  • Falls

  • MI

  • Deterioration of mobility / function

  • Multi-pathologies

Knowledge and skills required

Students will be expected to:

  • Have a knowledge of the anatomy and physiology of the cardiorespiratory system and be able to link this to patient presentations and pathologies.

  • Undertake subjective and objective assessments utilising, where appropriate, the skills of observation, palpation, auscultation, interpretation of ABGs, CXRs, assessments of exercise tolerance and functional capacity.

  • Identify problems, goals and outcome measures from assessment findings and plan and progress treatment regimes.

  • Implement techniques to:  

    • Reduce work of breathing

    • Aid removal of secretions

    • Maximise lung volume / V/Q

    • Improve exercise tolerance

    • Reduce complications associated with immobility

    • Improve strength, mobility and function

    • Improve balance and prevent falls

    • Educate patients and build their confidence

  • Liaise with all members of the MDT to optimise patient care and facilitate safe and timely discharges.

Learning Outcomes

On completing this module you should be able to:

Assess a patient confidently

 

Identify problems and plan an appropriate course of physiotherapy treatment based on assessment findings

 

Implement the treatment plan with regular re-assessments and progression of treatment

 

Liaise with the wider MDT to facilitate safe and timely discharges

Day 1

Full uniform is worn (polo shirt if preferred) and university ID Badge required to be displayed at all times

Directions: Click here for directions and a map of the hospital. The site is accessible via public transport (see Induction Handbook for more information).

Parking: Parking is available on site, a fee is charged for all patients, visitors and members of staff using these facilities.  On your first day please use the car parks indicated for patients/visitors and pay accordingly.  A parking pass is available to be purchased for future uses. Click here for more information.

Photo: Chesterfield Royal Hospital

Contacts

Coordinator:                            

Sharon Wood                     sharonwood2@nhs.net

Clinical Supervisors:              

Gill Sharpe                       gsharpe@nhs.net

Carolyn Goldson             carolyngoldson@nhs.net​

Charlotte Forsyth           charlotte.forsyth@nhs.net

Stephanie Taylor            stephanie.taylor15@nhs.net

Lisa Cooke                       lisacooke5@nhs.net

Helen Burlend                helen.burlend@nhs.net

Katie Martin                    katie.martin10@nhs.net

Clare Luckett                   clare.luckett@nhs.net

Documents to download: